Pappardelle with Red Pepper Sauce (Vegan)

IMG_6601.JPG

This recipe is an adaptation of a recipe that can be found here.

Let me begin by saying this: I hate red bell peppers. Give me any hot pepper, and I’m a happy camper. Jalapeño, Habanero, Poblano, red hot chiles, Banana Pepper, you name it, I like all the peppers. Heck, I even like green, yellow and orange bell peppers. But I swear to you, red bell peppers have a certain flavor that, to me, tastes like dirt. So why would someone like myself decide to experiment with a recipe in which the main ingredient is red bell peppers? The answer is two reasons: 1. Because the pictures looked yummy and 2. I wanted to give red bell peppers one more chance before I denounced them forever. I must say, I’m glad I did because this recipe is scrumptious and healthy too!

Ingredients:

  • 2 red bell peppers
  • Olive oil
  • 4-5 cloves garlic
  • 2 shallots
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • chili flakes to taste
  • fresh herbs of your choice (I used thyme, sage, rosemary and parsley because that’s what I have in my garden)
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk or coconut cream
  • 2-3 Tbsp flour to thicken
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine or rose
  • Pappardelle pasta

 

Instructions:

  1. Grill the red peppers until they are blackened. You will have to turn them periodically to ensure even grilling. Once they are ready, let them cool, peel off the blackened skin and discard it.
  2. In a large nonstick skillet, sautee the minced garlic and shallots in the olive oil until translucent and fragrant. Add the finely chopped herbs, salt, pepper and chili flakes to taste. Finally, add the flour. Stir frequently. This will become thick like a roux. Pour into a blender/food processor along with the red bell peppers.
  3. Meanwhile, start boiling your pasta until al dente.
  4. Blend the ingredients until creamy and smooth.
  5. Taste your sauce. If it lacks flavor, make some adjustments. Add the vino. Blend some more.
  6. Pour your sauce back into the non stick skillet. Cook until it starts gently bubbling and the sauce thickens quite a bit. If the sauce is not thickening, add some more flour or corn starch.
  7. Strain the pasta and coat with vegan butter substitute or olive oil. Pour your sauce over the pasta and mix together gently until all the pasta is coated.
  8. Serve with roughly chopped parsley on top alongside some warm, crunchy bread and a glass of vino! 🙂

IMG_6605

 

IMG_6606

 

 

 

One response to “Pappardelle with Red Pepper Sauce (Vegan)

  1. This looks amazing and if love to make. Did you get the parpadelle at TJs? They have a lemon one with cracked pepper that’s yummy and I make a nice recipe with fresh veggies listing on my Pinetrest wall.

    It was nice chatting tonight and I’m looking forward to your arrival. Please let me know the exact dates. If you can plan your trip for a dinner time arrival or even earlier, then we can have a meal before Jairus continues up north. It should give him a refreshing break.

    Love

    Mom xo

    Gail Nannini Condon Realty Inc. 399 Chestnut St. Needham, MA 02492 Gailn@condonrealty.com Direct 617-678-1278

    >

Leave a Reply

